Excellus Bluecross BlueShield logo
Login | Register | Forgot Username | Forgot Password
Back to Search Results
Blue Distinction Centers of Excellence
Blue Distinction Centers of Excellence

Not all Blue Distinction centers are covered by Medicare
If you are a Medicare member you must receive services at a Medicare certified facility. For more information on Medicare certified facilities, please cont act our Customer Service Department at 1-877-883-9577 (TTY/TDD 1-800-421-1220), 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. From October 1 - February 14, representatives are also available weekends from 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.

Follow this link to View a List of Medicare Certified Facilities.

A simpler, smarter way to find quality specialty care.
Not all hospitals are the same. One facility may excel in certain specialties and not in others, so a hospital that has a solid overall reputation isn’t necessarily the right choice for a specific procedure.

So, consider a facility designated as a Blue Distinction Center®. The Blue Distinction designation is awarded to hospitals based on a thorough, objective evaluation of their performance in the areas that matter most to you—quality care, treatment expertise, and overall patient outcomes, just to name a few. The criteria we measure are established with the help of expert physicians and medical organizations.

The program currently recognizes facilities as Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care® in the areas of:

  • Bariatric surgery
  • Cardiac care
  • Complex and rare cancers
  • Knee and Hip Replacement
  • Spine Surgery
  • Transplants

Learn more: Watch a short video clip on Blue Distinction

Find a center: Visit the Blue Distinction Center Finder

Get the facts: Check out the Blue Distinction Fact Sheet (PDF)

See the details: Read about the Selection Criteria

Back to Search Results
Home     About Us    Fraud & Abuse    Accreditations   
Language Assistance and Non-Discrimination Notice

Copyright © 2018, Excellus BlueCross BlueShield, a nonprofit independent licensee of the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association. All rights reserved. View our Web Privacy Policy for information on how we protect your privacy. Use of this site indicates your acceptance of our Terms of Use. Follow this link to view our 31 county New York State service area. You will need Internet Explorer or Firefox to use the secure features of this site.